Joseph Mark Glazner

Joseph Mark Glazner, Author




Joseph Mark Glazner is an internationally acclaimed American-Canadian author.


His much anticipated new book, Life After America, will be published in 2017.


Life After America is an upbeat memoir about Glazner’s life as a young American, who left the US for Canada during the wild and crazy 1960s and found a place in history helping John Lennon kick-start his “War Is Over” campaign.


Glazner recounts with dark humor and the eye of a veteran thriller writer his nearly bungled escape from the US, fly-by-night jobs as a new immigrant, the pitfalls of love in an era of sexual revolution, and a stint writing tabloid stories about UFOs that kill people and sheep.


"I was told if I left America, I would ruin the rest of my life. I left anyway and was dazzled by what I found."




Joseph Mark Glazner is also the author of five crime novels written under his own name, including Smart Money Doesn’t Sing, and two crime novels under his pen name Joseph Louis, including the Shamus and Arthur Ellis nominated Madelaine.


He is also a co-writer of the cult science fiction feature film The Shape of Things to Come. His by-lined and ghost-written articles have appeared in such diverse newspapers and periodicals as Executive, The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, Sunday Express (Montreal), Omni, Cavalier, The Five Cent Review, and Midnight.




Glazner had also run a think tank and provided communications advice to governments and corporations in Canada, United States, and the Bahamas.




Glazner grew up in rural Warrenville, New Jersey. He is a graduate of the University of Southern Southern California (psychology, magna cum laude) and an elected member of Phi Beta Kappa. He and his partner Joanie Shirriff live in Toronto, Canada.




Selected bibliography






Life After America by Joseph Mark Glazner. Coming in 2017






MurderLand by Joseph Mark Glazner. Coming in 2017




The Evan Paris Series (writing as Joseph Louis)


Madelaine, Bantam Books, Inc., New York, 1987


The Trouble with Stephanie, Bantam Books, Inc., New York, 1988


The Billy Nevers Series (writing as Joseph Mark Glazner)


Smart Money Doesn’t Sing or Dance, Warner Books, Inc., New York, 1979


Fast Money Shoots from the Hip, Warner Books, Inc., New York, 1980


Dirty Money Can’t Wash Both Hands at Once, Warner Books, Inc., New York, 1980


Big Apple Money Is Rotten to the Core, Warner Books, Inc., New York, 1981


Hot Money Can Cook Your Goose, Warner Books, Inc., New York, 1981






Madelaine by Joseph Louis was nominated for the Shamus Award for Best Original Private Eye Paperback by the Private Eye Writers of America, and for the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel by the Crime Writers of Canada in 1988.